When I found out that I was pregnant I was thrilled.
I could not wait to have a little one in my life.
But I soon felt emotionally upset all of the time.
I was astounded by the comments other WOMEN said to me,
“Oh, you are having a girl. Well girls take part of their beauty from their mom. That is why you are puking all of the time. She is taking your looks from you, so that she can be pretty.” What? Really. This woman had a daughter. So I am guessing they do not have a good mother daughter relationship.
“Girls always love their daddy’s more. You will soon because second fiddle in your house.” Second Fiddle?
“Men always side with their daughters over their wives. Soon he will be wrapped around her little finger.
She will always get her way, and will just be the ‘old woman’. Ouch.
“Don’t even think about losing your baby weight, no one ever really does.” Very encouraging.
“After a baby, you can bet your husband will be way more interested in other woman, men always lose part of htier sexual desire for their wives after they give birth.” I am happy to know that.
“After you have a kid your marriage kind of goes down the crapper for a while.” Ok, good to know.
“You are going to breast feed, your boobs are going to turn into watermelons, your boobs are too big for that.” Wow.
“No epidural, what are you trying to prove?” What does it matter to you?
“Public school? Do you know what kind of things go on at those schools? Do you know what kind of freaks go there?” I am a public high school grad.
I know, I know. These are a lot of negative comments. Why am I focusing on the negative?
I guess because I am still amazed at all of the screwed up things other women say to each other.
Why are we so hard on each other?
And I am not innocent; I remember being about 20/21 thinking horrible things about some women I knew who were prego. I thought judgmental thoughts about their weight gain. HA! If only I knew what was in store for me. Once I became prego I knew I was wrong to think those things.
But all of these things were said to me by other MOMS!!! Not young kids without kids.
It is like the grade school attitude for adults, instead of “I have cooler clothes than you.” It is “My kid is going to be better than your kid.”
So what is this all about ladies? Are any of you guilty of being a judgmental against other prego chicks?Why do we have to be so polite when these things are said to us? Why was I told by other women (when I complained) ‘this is part of being pregnant.’ I don’t think there is any reason for anyone to put up with unwanted, unneeded judgmental comments.
So what do you think???
Thursday, November 19, 2009
Wednesday, November 18, 2009
Bad Experience at the Mall with Lainey
Let me set the scene for you all.
This past Saturday at a local St. Louis Mall, it is busy, but not overwhelming.
It is me and Lainey, she is in the stroller.
I am making my way through the mall, looking to spend some money on a few holiday dresses.
I have two issues:
1. All the obnoxious people who WALKED into my stroller. Young kids texting… Suburban moms on their cells…
And the jack asses who just don’t care about anyone besides themselves.
2. Going into stores, people look at you weird b/c you have a stroller. One man ask me to leave the stroller at the front of the store, he told me people have been stealing stuff in the strollers.
On the first issue, I snapped at some woman, “watch where the hell you are going.” Is about what is said.
On the second issue, I left the store. I get the fact the guy doesn’t want stuff stolen, but it wasn’t me. I didn’t steal the stuff.
I am guilty because I am pushing a stroller with my kid in it?
So what do you think… Am I overreacting, or are my feelings justified?
This past Saturday at a local St. Louis Mall, it is busy, but not overwhelming.
It is me and Lainey, she is in the stroller.
I am making my way through the mall, looking to spend some money on a few holiday dresses.
I have two issues:
1. All the obnoxious people who WALKED into my stroller. Young kids texting… Suburban moms on their cells…
And the jack asses who just don’t care about anyone besides themselves.
2. Going into stores, people look at you weird b/c you have a stroller. One man ask me to leave the stroller at the front of the store, he told me people have been stealing stuff in the strollers.
On the first issue, I snapped at some woman, “watch where the hell you are going.” Is about what is said.
On the second issue, I left the store. I get the fact the guy doesn’t want stuff stolen, but it wasn’t me. I didn’t steal the stuff.
I am guilty because I am pushing a stroller with my kid in it?
So what do you think… Am I overreacting, or are my feelings justified?
Monday, November 9, 2009
My Wedding Weight...

When I tied the knot on April 27, 2007 I was a size 12, and unhappy with my weight. Looking back at that time I can not believe I thought I was fat.
On May 5, 2009 I had my first child, Elaine Toscano. It is six months later, and I am almost down to a size 14. I have confiidence now that I didn't have than, a better self esteem, but I want to lose the weight to get down to a size 12.
I have been watching what I eat for the past three weeks, and working out at least 5 times a week. The only way to lose weight from my experience is to eat less, and move more.
But what I have come across is the many different annoying things about losing weight that people often don't talk about:
1. The overly supportive family members, "you look great, you don't need to lose weight."
2. Going to the gym and watching people use it as a 'social networking' spot and not a gym.
3. People who try and convince that you that something is 'ok' to eat.
So What Do You Think...??
A Year Ago...
Last year at this time, I was pregnant with my first child, Elaine Toscano. I am happy to say that she is a happy, healthy 6 month old baby. As cliche as it sounds I can not believe a year has gone by, and so many things in my life have dramatically changed. Views and opinions I once had are now completely changed.
This blog is to be a resource for myself and others to post their thoughts/views and beliefs (no hateful) to get others advice or feedback. From where to shop, how to stop fighting with a spouse, to raising kids in today's society. I look forward to making this an open-minded outlet for many to voice their thoughts.
My Best,
Julia
This blog is to be a resource for myself and others to post their thoughts/views and beliefs (no hateful) to get others advice or feedback. From where to shop, how to stop fighting with a spouse, to raising kids in today's society. I look forward to making this an open-minded outlet for many to voice their thoughts.
My Best,
Julia
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)